ASCLA members have voted overwhelmingly to approve the revised bylaws on the Spring election ballot. The bylaw changes provide a new structure for ASCLA that allows for more member participation and collaboration. Groups of individuals with mutual issues and interests can generate spontaneously, evolving or devolving as the future changes. The new structure streamlines ASCLA’s governance, reducing formally elected positions by 50%.

Impetus for the restructuring came from members’ input over the last two years. Members indicated they want to spend more time on products and results and less time on the process of governance.  They want a high return for the investment of their personal time and want their involvement to be project-based, not position-based.

Under the new bylaws, the proposed composition of the ASCLA Board will look like this:

Five member Executive Committee:

  • President, President-Elect, Past-President – one-year terms
  • Secretary – two-year term
  • ALA Councilor – three-year term

Four “constituent” members from current membership groups – two-year terms – in the bylaws, each slot will be designated for an ASCLA leader representing:

  • State library agencies
  • Cooperative library services agencies
  • Libraries with services for one or more special populations
  • Independent librarians/consultants

Three at-large members – three-year terms 

ASCLA Standing Committees will include:

  • Awards Committee
  • ASCLA Scholarships Committee
  • Conference Programming
  • Finance and Planning Committee
  • Interest Group Coordination Committee
  • Legislative Advocacy
  • Membership
  • Nominating Committee
  • Online Learning Committee
  • Publications
  • Web Presence Committee

For a complete look at the proposed changes, please refer to the ASCLA Restructuring Proposal here:

ASCLA’s new structure will expand current members’ opportunities for engagement and attract new members with timely, issue-focused interest groups. ASCLA is re-energized and moving forward to a very successful future. Thank you to all the members who voted!