I’d like to extend a warm welcome to our 2016-17 President-Elect Jeannette Smithee and others elected to the Board of Directors, including Wendy Knapp (Secretary), Carson Block (Director at Large), Patrice Johnson (Designated Director, Special Populations), Sheryl Knab (Designated Director, Cooperatives and Networks), and Mary Soucie (Designated Director, State Library Agencies).   Thank you to everyone who ran for ASCLA office this year.

If you are attending Annual in Orlando, please take the opportunity to attend one of the ASCLA Board meetings on Saturday afternoon from 3:00-5:30 (W309 Orange County Convention Center) and Monday from 11:30 AM – 1:00 PM (W209C OCCC).  The ASCLA/COSLA/FAFLRT Awards and Reception will be held Saturday evening 5:45 to 7:15 in Plaza Ballroom D at the Hyatt Regency.  The President’s Program “Don’t Get Sued:  What Librarians Are Doing to Address the Physical, Programmatic, and Web-based Accessibility Barriers for People with Disabilities” will be held Sunday afternoon 4:30-5:30 PM in W105B OCCC.  Check the conference schedule for other ASCLA sponsored programming that will be of interest to you.

Also, if you will be in Orlando please take the time to get involved with some of the support and relief efforts underway after last weekend’s shootings.  ALA has compiled a list of resources of Orlando Support Activities at http://2016.alaannual.org/orlando-relief-activities.

Best wishes to outgoing Board members, especially Past President Kathi Pfeifer and SecretaryTracy Byerly.

It has been my privilege to serve as your ASCLA President this past year.  Being the smallest division of ALA has its advantages as I’ve gotten acquainted with so many of you!  I am always so impressed with your dedication and passion for your constituent groups and ASCLA!


Background Image: Green Disney Fireworks by Clyde