Post Midwinter 2012

New York Research Analysis Documents Positive Impact of School Libraries on Student Achievement

  The New York Comprehensive Center (NYCC)/RMC Research Corporation, in consultation with the New York State Education Department, the New York State Library and the New York Library Association has produced a new publication entitled, Informational Brief: Impact of School Libraries on Student Achievement. This comprehensive brief provides a current and rigorous research analyses which demonstrates...

Raising the Speed Limit in Idaho

Submitted by Gina Persichini, Networking Consultant, Idaho Commission for Libraries According to a 2011 report by the Federal Communications Commission (FCC), an estimated 232,000 Idahoans—primarily in the state’s vast rural areas—do not have high-speed Internet access. But the Idaho Commission for Libraries (ICfL) has taken the lead to help close that gap with an initiative...

ASCLA Member News

ASCLA Member Carrie Banks has been named one of the Movers and Shakers for 2012.  You can see the full list here:   http://lj.libraryjournal.com/2012/03/people/movers-shakers/movers-shakers-2012/ ASCLA Member Anne Abate has been selected to be the next Chair of the CPLA Certification Review Committee.  Her term will begin at the end of the 2012 ALA Annual Conference. Have...

The Future of Libraries–New ASCLA Interest Group

ASCLA has a fantastic new interest group: The Future of Libraries. This exciting new group will be examining different service models, new technologies, considering what trends may impact the future and investigating questions such as: What will be real and what will be virtual? What will make for a successful service? What roles and skill...

Physical Delivery Interest Group

Submitted by Jim Pletz, Director, The Library Network  The ASCLA Physical Delivery Interest Group will be having a conference call to discuss Inter State Delivery. Please mark your calendar for Monday, April 2, 2012 to join in on this FREE conference call. The call will be at 1:00 p.m. ET (Noon Central/11:00 a.m. Mountain/10:00 a.m. Pacific). Free Telephone Number: 866...