How and Why to Volunteer for ASCLA

Dear ASCLA Members,

I invite you to volunteer for one of ASCLA’s committees or interest groups.

If you are already a committee or interest group volunteer, thank you for your service: you are so much appreciated!  Because of your contributions, our division accomplishes much. ASCLA, through its volunteers, has provided:

This is just a small sampling of what our volunteers plan and take part in, and what makes ASCLA a terrific place for opportunities for service, your professional growth, and networking with colleagues.

If you are not yet a member of any of our committees or interest groups, please join:

Committees: All current members may volunteer for ASCLA committees here: http://www.ala.org/cfapps/committee/volunteerform (you will be asked to login using your ALA login).

Second, write to the ASCLA vice-president, Sara Laughlin (saraglaughlin@gmail.com), our ASCLA president-elect, who will appoint the committees for 2014.  Tell her about your experience and why you can be of help to these groups. 

Interest Groups: To join a free interest group, all current ASCLA members may call MACS (ALA’s member services department) at the following number: 1-800-545-2433, x5 and request to have the interest group added to their membership; or send an email to membership@ala.org with your request to be added to the interest group with subject line: ASCLA free interest groups.

Second, write to the specific interest group leader below. Tell him or her about your experience and how you can be of help to the group: 

ASCLA Alzheimer’s & Related Dementias Interest Group

Leader: Mary Beth Riedner, mbried@comcast.net

 ASCLA Future of Libraries Interest Group

Leader: Peggy Cadigan, pcadigan@njstatelib.org

 ASCLA Consortium Management Discussion Interest Group

Leader: Sheryl Knab, sknab@wnylrc.org

ASCLA Collaborative Digitization Interest Group

Leader: Rhonda Marker, rmarker@rci.rutgers.edu

 ASCLA Interlibrary Cooperation Interest Group

Leader: Scherelene L. Schatz, slschatzie@aol.com

ASCLA Physical Delivery Interest Group

Co-Leader: Gregory Pronevitz, greg@masslibsystem.org

Co-Leader: Mr. James E. Pletz, jpletz1968@hotmail.com

ASCLA Library Consultants Interest Group

Leader: Jeannette Smithee, smithee@seflin.org 

ASCLA Library Services for Youth in Custody

Leader: Camden Eadoin Tadhg, Tadhg_C@cde.state.co.us

ASCLA Bridging Deaf Cultures @ your library Interest Group

Leader: Alec Mcfarlane, alec.mcfarlane@gmail.com

ASCLA Library Services to People with Visual or Physical Disabilities that Prevent Them from Reading Standard Print Interest Group

Leader:  Carli Spina, carli.spina@gmail.com

ASCLA Library Services to the Incarcerated and Detained

Leader: Diane Walden, diane.walden@doc.state.co.us

ASCLA Universal Access Interest Group

Leader: Marti Goddard, mgoddard@sfpl.org

ASCLA State Library Agencies – Library Development Interest Group

Leader: Gina Persichini, Gina.Persichini@libraries.idaho.gov  

ASCLA State Library Agencies – LSTA Coordinators Interest Group

Leader: Kathleen Moeller-Peiffer, kpeiffer@njstatelib.org

ASCLA State LibraryAgencies – Youth Services Consultants Interest Group

Leader: Sharon Rawlins, srawlins@njstatelib.org

ASCLA Tribal Libraries Interest Group

Leader: Lillian Chavez, mescalero_library@yahoo.com

Thank you again to all our current, past and future volunteers – you are truly what makes ASCLA such a wonderful, and fun, place to be!

Best Wishes,

Susan Hornung

ASCLA Executive Director

shornung@ala.org

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply